Main Content

SCSU Faculty Scholar Award


This annual award recognizes scholarly and creative work of exceptional merit by a full-time member of the SCSU faculty.

Who is Eligible

The nominated work must be a product, such as a book, article, invention, work of art or artistic performance. It must have appeared within the past five years and must have won recognition by scholars and/or critics outside the CSCU system.

What the Winner Receives

A cash prize of $2,500 and a commemorative plaque accompany the award.

How to Apply

Download the Faculty Scholar Award application (.pdf). Send complete application packets to Academic Affairs, EN A 210, addressed to the chair of the Faculty Scholar Award Committee. The Faculty Scholar Award Committee is elected by faculty referendum, and a new chair is elected annually.  Application packets must contain an information sheet with the following items:

  1. name of the applicant;
  2. name or title of the work put forth for evaluation;
  3. complete bibliographic information or production data (date, place, agency, etc.);
  4. signature of the applicant, granting permission to proceed with the evaluation as described above;
  5. The applicant's curriculum vitae.
  6.  One copy of the item to be evaluated or photographs and/or videotapes of works of art and performance pieces.
  7. Copies of published and unpublished reviews, articles and letters, evaluations and other commentary pertaining to the work under consideration, accompanied by a listing of all such materials (max. 12 items).
  8. A 1-2 page summary description and appraisal of the work, written by the applicant (double-spaced, 12 pt. type, 1 inch margins on all sides).

Applications are evaluated by the Faculty Scholar Award Committee according to the following criteria: 1) the intellectual and/or artistic merit of the endeavor; 2) the impact made by the work upon its field of study; 3) the degree to which the work is innovative in content, approach and/or methodology; 4) the work's scholarly or creative integrity; and 5) the social significance of the enterprise.

When to Apply

The deadline is Monday, November 5, 2018 by 3 p.m. The award recipient will be named during the 2018-2019 academic year and will be presented at the President’s Annual Celebration of Excellence event.

PAST recipients



Steven Judd, History


Giuseppina Palma, World Languages & Literatures


Armen Marsoobian, Philosophy


Troy Paddock, History


Stephen Amerman, History


Elliott Horch, Physics


Christine Petto, History


Brian Johnson, English


Paul R. Petrie, English


Vivian Shipley, English, and Leon Yacher, Geography


Mia Brownell, Art


Mark Kuss, Music


Vivian Shipley, English 


Michael Vena, Foreign Languages


James F. Rhodes, English 


Tim Parrish, English, and Hugh Davis, History 


Louise Spear-Swerling, Special Education 


David Pettigrew, Philosophy, and Vivan Shipley, English

For more information:

Rex Gilliland, Ph.D.
Chair, Faculty Scholar Award Committee
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Southern Connecticut State University
Engleman Hall D 210
Tel: (203) 392-6783