Main Content


Welcome 2017 Industry Academic Fellows!

The Industry Academic Fellowship (IAF) program provides students with the opportunity to conduct team-based interdisciplinary research. During the course of this 8 week summer research program, students will conduct research with a team of undergraduates, graduate students, educators and industry professionals while also exploring the business related aspects of technology. The IAF team projects included aspects of experimental design, microscopy theory and techniques, literature review and data analysis. These projects included exposure to business aspects of scientific industries:

1) Characterization of biomaterial surfaces and protein surface interactions using both scanning electron microscopy (SEM) and atomic force microscopy (AFM)

2) The design and implementation of nano-particulate collection techniques and the characterization of   nano-particulate pollutants using transmission electron microscopy (TEM) and SEM.

Students pictured below (from left to right):

Tyler Feger (Biochemistry), Richard Szeligowski (Biology, Physics), Jerome Frey (Applied Physics), Errol Van Lange (Physics), and Atarrah Kelly (Biochemistry)

 2017 iaf fellows


Southern Connecticut State University is proud to announce that Winnie Yu of Computer Science, James Tait and Vince Breslin of the Werth Center for Coastal and Marine Studies, Terese Gemme, Director of SCSU's Honors College, Terri Bennett, Chair of the Math Dept. and Susan Cusato of the Science Education and Enviromental Studies dept. have received the 2015 Team William E. Bennett Award for Extraordinary Contributions to Citizen Science recipient for a second time in a row.  This award is granted annually to an individual or team whose SENCER (Science Education for New Civic Engagements and Responsibilities) and other related activities have made exemplary and extraordinary contributions to citizen science. This dedicated team has provided decade-long contributions to citizen science, and has positively impacted many students over the years. We applaud the work of Winnie Yu and her team and look forward to their continued success in the future.


 Nearly 500 research abstracts were submitted to the Council on Undergraduate Research for display consideration for CUR's Posters on the Hill. An Honorable Mention recognition is awarded to those applicants who display academic excellence and high quality research. Congratulations are in order for Caitlin Hansen and Alexis Ernst, both from the Physics department, who were awarded an Honorable Mention for their poster submission Characterization of Bulk Metallic Glasses (BMGs) using Various Microscopy Techniques for Biomedical Applications.


Professor of Mathematics Maria Diamantis (representing the Center for Excellence in Mathematics and Science – CEMS) hosts weekly group meetings for the local National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) Jr. Chapter.  Last November, five of these students traveled to Hauppage, N.Y., where they attended the Region I, NSBE Jr. Regional Conference and earned third place in a Try-Math-A-Lon.  The students are meeting at Southern twice a week in preparation for the NSBE National Convention. 

There are 12 students currently registered with the NSBE Jr. Chapter at SCSU.  Five of those students registered for the 41st Annual NSBE Convention in Anaheim, CA. They competed in the VEX Robotics Competition and reached the quarter-finals, competing against students from all states in the US.  The first place team was from Georgia state, sponsored by Georgia Tech University and second place team was from Syracuse school district.


Professor Winnie Yu and Dr. Lisa Lancor  from the Computer Science department have been awarded a $5,000 mini grant from the Google Education and University Relations Funds of Tides Foundation  for SCSU's CS Engagement award. This grant will be used to introduce cyber security concepts to the Computer Programming II course.

 Professor Yu and a team of STEM faculty including Dr. Nick Edgington and Dr. Clara Kim from 

Biology, and Dr. James Kearns from Chemistry  have been awarded a $3,000 2014 SENCER-NSF Post-Institution Implementation Award to help promote student success in STEM.