Main Content

The Baden-Württemberg Exchange (Germany)

The Baden-Württemberg Germany Exchange Program offers students an opportunity to earn college credits from one of Germany's top universities. Students may spend an academic year at one of nine universities in Baden-Württemberg, Germany:  Heidelberg, Freiburg, Tübingen, Mannheim, Karlsruhe, Stuttgart, Konstanz, Hohenheim, and Ulm.  With a population of 11 million, Baden-Württemberg is the third largest of 16 German states, and is one of the most prosperous regions in Germany as it is the center of automotive, electronic and biomedical industries.



University of Freiburg offers both unsurpassed beauty and one of the warmest climates in Germany. It is located in a picturesque valley on the western border of the Black Forest. Founded in 1457, it is the second oldest university in Germany. It offers a wide range of liberal arts courses as well as a fully developed Deutsch als Fremdsprache program.



he University of Heidelberg is nestled between rolling hills, where the Neckar River spills out into the Rhine plane. Under the watchful eye of the famous Heidelberg Castle, the university is interspersed throughout the city enjoying a beautiful and historic location. Founded in the 14th Century, the University of Heidelberg has a strong tradition in the liberal arts. Building on this, the University has taken its place as a leader in the sciences and medicine as well. In addition, it has an extensive Deutsch als Fremdsprache program.



University of Hohenheim  is Stuttgart’s other university. Its roots reach back to 1818 with the founding of an agricultural research and teaching institute. This institute later became a college of agriculture and a full-fledged university in 1967. While emphasis at Hohenheim University remains on the biological and agricultural sciences (including animal science), economics (including business administration), nutritional sciences and  communications are well represented.



The University of Karlsruhe opened its doors in 1825 as a polytechnic school to 250 students. With 20,000 students today, it is a major technical university comparable to MIT or California Polytech. Karlsruhe offers degrees in 40 different fields. Its largest programs are in civil, electrical and mechanical engineering; computer science; and the natural sciences. It also has offerings in the humanities and social sciences.



The University of Konstanz  was founded in 1967. The largest program of study in Konstanz is political science/public administration. Konstanz is a campus university and is housed in ultra modern structures in close proximity to each other. The town of Konstanz lies on the shores of Lake Konstanz (Bodensee), which shares its borders with Switzerland and Austria.



The University of Mannheim,   which began as a school of commerce and business in 1907, offers a metropolitan environment with easy access to some of Baden-Wuerttemberg's largest business firms and cultural centers. A university since 1967, its largest program is in business administration and economics. It is also highly regarded in the social sciences (including history and education) and has excellent programs in the humanities (including modern and ancient languages).  As a school of business, Mannheim has consistently received the highest ranking not only in Germany but also throughout Europe.



Located in the capital of Baden-Wü
rttemberg, the University of Stuttgart  began life in 1829 as a high school of commerce and trade. By 1890 it had developed into a technical college. In 1967, it was elevated to a full university. Today Stuttgart boasts 120 departments housed in 14 schools. Some of the best known are the school of architecture and city planning and the school of aeronautical and space engineering. The university of Stuttgart is highly regarded in all branches of engineering and has an especially strong profile in the natural sciences and mathematics. Liberal arts students would do well to consider Stuttgart as well. The course offerings in the humanities and social sciences are impressive. Like Karlsruhe, the University of Stuttgart has much in common with MIT or California Polytech.



Poised at the edge of the picturesque Swabian Alb, and enjoying the serenity offered by the gently flowing Neckar,  the University of Tübingen  is part of a genuine university town. Of the city's approximately 85,000 inhabitants, over a third are either enrolled at or work for the university. Founded in 1477, the University of Tübingen now offers a wide range of academic disciplines: from traditional liberal arts to computer science. In addition, the University of Tübingen offers an excellent selection of courses in Deutsch als Fremdsprache.



Situated on the banks of the historic Danube River, the University of Ulm   was founded in 1967. Ulm’s curriculum centers on medicine, mathematics and the sciences (including electrical engineering and computer science). Ulm does not have courses of study in the humanities and social sciences with the exception of economics. Ulm borders on Bavaria.  To get to Stuttgart from Ulm takes one hour; to get to Munich, an hour and a half.